RSS

Today has been roller coaster

10 Mar

As she returns to the living room to join Rahul, she hopes that awkwardness has subsided.  “Did you miss me?” she asks.

” Absolutely”, Rahul replies.  “Now lets switch the subject and talk about the real issue here.  Who knew that Sonal was a thug?  She can over my house with a car full and a bat.  I didn’t that little Sonal got down like that!”

They both crack up laughing.

“Today was crazy Rahul.”

“Yeah, it was.”

“Your family hates me.”

“No they don’t, they don’t even know you.  Besides, Sumit thinks your pretty, and that’s all that really matters, isn’t it?”

“Rahul, this isn’t funny, first impressions last.”

“You’re not the one who made a fool of themself today, Monique is.  My family saw how you handled her ignorance.”  Rahul stops for a second and takes a long look at Ritu.  “Come here baby.”  He pulls her over to him and as they take a seat, he re-positions a piece of her bang that is always hanging in her eye.

“Ritu, I know today was crazy but in a way I’m kind of happy that it happened.”

“Rahul, why would you say that?”

“Because today I realized that is that I am completely in love with you.  When we were sitting on the porch waiting for Sonal to come, I looked in your face and could see that she hurt you, and for that I wanted to hurt her.  That’s why I left.  I know that you told me that it was cool, but I also know that your feelings were hurt.  And although I know that today’s event were bad, I know that the pain and hurt you hold is from years long before we even met.  I just want to ease that, and make it better.  Ritu, if I thought for one second that you would say yes, I would ask you to spend your life with me.  But I know that your not sure yet.  I am though.  I’ve been sure from the first time I saw you.  I though to myself, “I can’t approach her, what if she in a relationship?”  But none of that mattered the longer I observed you.  I wanted you.  I love you then.  I know my situation isn’t ideal.  I have baggage that you don’t.”

“I have baggage too Rahul”, Ritu interjects.

“Let me finish baby, I know now is not the time for a proposal, so I’ll give you a proposition:  Don’t go to Mumbai, stay here with me and let me love you.  Give me a chance, give us a chance.  Can you do that?”  Ritu takes Rahul’s hand, looks up at him, and with a small flood in her eyes, nods.  They sit there for a while and hold each other.

“Hey, I haven’t ate anything, I’m hungry.  Are you?”

“I ate a little bit before I left, but what do you want to eat baby?”

“I want some wings and chilli-cheese fries.”

“Looks like  have to go market , want me to go?”

“Nah, what time is it?  it’s too late for all of that, I’ll just eat some Fruit Loops”

Rahul chuckles, “Me too, I haven’t had Fruit Loops in years.”

They sit at her formal dinning table, right next to one another, eat cereal, and laugh over the day’s events.  And as Ritu is cleaning up the table and taking the dishes into the kitchen, Rahul speaks.

“Can I wake up with you in my arms?”

Ritu hesitates.  “I don’t know if I’m ready for that.”

“I just want to hold you.  I don’t want this night to end.”

“Rahul, I don’t think we should go there and I’m a little shocked that you asked.”

“What do you mean Ritu?”

“We just went to temple  this morning, today has been roller coaster, I just don’t think we should complicate it.”

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2016 in Short Fiction

 

Leave a Reply

 
